Last Days in Colorado

Be prepared for a lot of pictures, because the last couple of months in Colorado were so busy, I got very behind! So now I’m just stuffing them all into one post, even though there’s a lot I could say about all of the memories represented in these photos.

One of the first goodbyes I had to say was to my friend Erin at her going away party as she prepared to live and serve in Africa for a year.

It was a really bittersweet time knowing she was called by God and would be such a blessing to the people there, but also knowing how much we were all going to miss her and the blessing she’d been to us. I also knew it was very likely I would have already moved by the time she got back, so this was going to be one of the last times I’d be able to see her for a very long time.

Definitely hard!

In July

The lady herself posing with my godmother growin' up, Darcy.

Erin and my godmother, Darcy.

Guest of Honor

Photo garland of fun times spent with Erin.

Photo garland of fun times spent with Erin.

Friends from our Bible Study Group.

Friends from our Bible Study Group.

Canvas guest book with well-wishes for Erin.

Canvas guest book with well-wishes for Erin.

Lissa, Erin, Darcy and I--amazing friends and a force to be reckoned with! ;) Miss them all tons!

Lissa, Erin, Darcy and I–amazing friends and a force to be reckoned with! 😉 Miss them all tons!

Next was my older sister’s bridal shower as she prepared to get married in August, just one month before we were set to move. (Now you know some of the reason I was too busy to update!)

The centerpieces for the wedding we all helped make. Glass bottles with rubber bands wrapped all around, then spray painted with silver glitter.

The centerpieces for the wedding we all helped make. Glass bottles with rubber bands wrapped all around, then spray painted with silver glitter.

The bride-to-be opening her gifts!

The bride-to-be opening her gifts!

Alicia at Bridal Shower

Gorgeous sis!

Next there was a fundraising gala for the private school I’d both attended and taught at…

Good friends Vonnie and Tessa!

Good friends Vonnie and Tessa!

A very fun night!

A very fun night!

Watching an alumni video I was really blessed to help organize for a school I really love!

Guests watching the alumni video that we debuted that night!

Friends and two of the alumni who appeared in the video!

Friends and two of the alumni who appeared in the video!

In August

Then the wedding!

Alicia getting ready for her big day! :)

Alicia getting ready for her big day! 🙂

Her bouquet and ring.

Her bouquet and ring.

Sneak Peek...

Sneak Peek…

The gorgeous venue.

The gorgeous venue.

Dad walking her down the aisle.

Dad walking her down the aisle.

The ceremony.

The ceremony.

I now pronounce you husband and wife, and not a dry eye to be seen!

I now pronounce you husband and wife, and not a dry eye to be seen!

My niece Mackenzie, new brother-in-law Jesse, new niece Destany, and my sister Alicia.

My niece Mackenzie, new brother-in-law Jesse, new niece Destany, and my sister Alicia.

The entire wedding party!

The entire wedding party!

My sweet Nana and Great Aunt Sandy checkin' out the merchandise. ;)

My sweet Nana and Great Aunt Sandy checkin’ out the merchandise. 😉

The whole family!

The whole family! (Minus Boe man, my baby nephew.)

The reception with my younger sister Rachel, Mom, and friends Carsyn and Shannia. :)

The reception with my younger sister Rachel, Mom, and friends Carsyn and Shannia. 🙂

The Cake!

The Cake!

Mr. and Mrs.!

Mr. and Mrs.!

And before we knew it, it was already time to say our goodbyes.

Last coffee date with Christina, Jakota, Tela, and Lissa.

Last coffee date with Christina, Jakota, Tela, and Lissa.

Coffee Date 2

Sayin' goodbye to Bekah and the girls.

Sayin’ goodbye to Bekah and the girls.

Girls and Me

Cassara Peeking

Drivin' around!

Cruisin’!

Last time tucking these sweeties into bed for nap time. Definitely started to lose it right about here!

Last time tucking these sweeties into bed for nap time. Definitely started to lose it right about here!

Last time reading a Bible Story before nap.

Last time reading them a Bible Story before nap.

Not fair how much I already miss everyone in this shot! <3

Not fair how much I already miss everyone in this shot! ❤

A

A “last outing” with Tessa for church, coffee, and trip to WholeFoods to try as many things as we could in their pastry case.

Tessa showing off some of our spoils from the day!

Tessa showing off some of our spoils from the day!

I was taking pictures of the enormous red velvet cupcake I got when I saw this lady wearing a Colorado state flag shirt and had to take a pic.

I was taking pictures of the enormous red velvet cupcake I got when I saw this lady wearing a Colorado state flag shirt and had to take a pic.

Some sweet friends hosted a going away party for us, and a lot of the families I've babysat for over the years were able to come. This is Leah and Chase, minus their older brother Mason.

Some precious friends hosted a going away party for us, and a few of the families I’ve babysat for over the years were able to come. This is the adorable Leah and Chase, minus their older brother Mason who was off playing somewhere else. 

Bailey and Daniel! Two of the sweetest people you'll ever meet.

Bailey and Daniel! Two of the sweetest people you’ll ever meet.

Me and my girls! Nephew Boe is there in the corner, too.

Me and my girls! Boe man is there in the corner, too.

A lot of the pics turned out blurry that night, but two of my best buds! (And little buds. :) )

A lot of the pics turned out blurry that night, but two of my best buds! (And little buds. 🙂 )

Sweet girl Lillian who I've also had the opportunity to watch! Her mama and good friend Lissa hosted the party.

Sweet girl Lillian who I’ve also had the opportunity to watch! Her mama and dear friend Lissa hosted the party.

Miss this lady!

Miss this lady!

Could a girl ask for a better group of friends? From L to R: dear friend Lissa who blessed us so much by putting the party together, Christina, me, Jakota who helped host, and Tessa.

Could a girl ask for a better group of friends? From L to R: Lissa who put the party together, friend Christina, me, Jakota who helped host, and Tessa.

How do you describe having to say goodbye to so many precious and amazing people? I can tell you truthfully that almost every person pictured in these photos were a part of being the Body of Christ to me and of loving me out of some really dark times, even when they didn’t know it. I just hope I was able to be the same kind of blessing to them that they were to me!

The going away party that night was one of the most loved, blessed, and honored that I have ever felt. Tessa even made our family a beautiful canvas guest book that I forgot to take pictures of in the hustle and bustle of everything, but I’ll take pictures again once we start finding everything and make sure to post them!

All-in-all, what can I say about my last days and year in Colorado? For one thing, it was packed full with beautiful souls. Some of the kindest, selfless, and most generous people you’ll ever know.

It was an amazing, very blessed time, and to sum it all up: it was all about the adventure of love.

The love of the Lord.

Learning to love and be loved…

And loving every minute.

Leave a Reply

